Spicy, Chipotle Pozole

image

NOTE: Because my hardrive died, you’re stuck w a cell phone photo.

So there’s this place here in Knoxville called Senor Taco. If you haven’t been there before, you should check it out. My friend Elo and I have been going there regularly (at least once a week) for three years now for their margaritas. Don’t let the Tuscan Countryside wallpaper-murals fool you, this place is Mexican through and through. Of course they have the typical quesadillas, tacos, and chili rellenos, but they also have some more authentic Mexican food involving tongue, whole fish, and stomach. Unfortunately, menudo (chili and cow stomach soup) and pozole (pork and hominy stew) are only served on the weekends, not always compatible for my craving of this rich, spicy soup with blossoms of hominy and chunks of fatty pork.

Oh, well, I guess I just need to make my own, don’t I? This soup is great for a chilly afternoon, and your kitchen will smell DELICIOUS!

4 dried chipotle peppers
8 cloves of garlic
1 medium onion, diced (Local – Colvin Family Farm )
3/4 lb of fatty pork shoulder or butt cut into 1 inch cubes (Local – West Wind Farms )
2 cups of chicken stock
3 cups of hominy (dried and soaked overnight, or just canned)
1/2 tbsp cumin
1/2 tbsp oregano
Salt and pepper.

Toppings:
Tortilla chips
Sour Cream / Yogurt
Avacados
Tomatillos
Lime
Jalapenos

Seed chipotle peppers. In small pot, combine chipotle peppers, 2 cups water, and 3 smashed garlic cloves. Allow to simmer for about 20 minutes. Blend with immersion blender or in food processer.

In 4 quart soup pot, sweat onions and garlic on medium low with a pinch of salt. When transparent, add cubes of pork and cumin. Stir occasionally until pork is seared. Add oregano, chicken stock, hominy, and blended chipotle mixture. Season to taste with more cumin, oregano, salt, and pepper.

Allow soup to simmer for at least an hour. It is done when the meat falls apart (about 1 1/2 hours) Spoon into bowls and top. I like Tortilla chips, yogurt, and chopped tomatillos, which is one of the few things that survived my gardening this year (LOCAL! ;) ).

2 Comments

Filed under Hominy, Meat, Pork, Recipe, Soup

2 responses to “Spicy, Chipotle Pozole

  1. Tes

    This pozole recipe sounds really flavourful and intense! I seems simple to make, too. I would love to try this :)

  2. Gexx

    Thanks! It’s so much easier than it seems yet it is SOOO GOOD!. <3 your recipe blog, by the way! I want to try the dill fish recipe you recently featured.