Easy Fridge Kimchi

Other vegetables my CSA subscription box had WAY TOO MUCH OF were bok choy, napa cabbage, and daikon radish. And what do you do with them? I’m sure there’s plenty to do, but I was lacking in ideas. And then I found some kimchi recipes, tried some out, and ended up doing the following with ALL OF IT! I mix it with hot brown rice, toss it on the side of the plate when I cook up some veggies and an egg, and eat it out of the jar. Also, I just saw this recipe, which I want to try out soon. It’s a rather free-form recipe, as it’s supposed to just be made with what you have on hand

Bok choy or napa cabbage (LOCAL Colvin Family Farms)
daikon radish, turnips, other radishes (LOCAL Colvin Family Farms)
Hot Peppers – tabasco, jalapeno, or other (LOCAL Pepper dude at Market Square Farmers Market)
Ginger (optional)
Cumin and chili powder
rice vinegar
Jars with lids

Slice the leafy veggies into ribbons. I discard the tougher stems. Place in one bowl.

Slice the root veggies into matchsticks or thin slices. Place into a second bowl. Coat these veggies with cumin and chili powder (approx 1 generous tsp each for every 2 cups chopped).

In the bottom of each jar, place a 1/4 inch slice of ginger and a hot pepper (or two). Fill the jar with about 1/3 leafy veg, 1/3 root veg, and then a proportionate amount of either depending on how much of each you have (you don’t want to have a final jar of just leaves or roots – unless you do!). If you like your kimchi really spicy, add another hot pepper in the middle.

Stuff the jar. Seriously, those leaves squish down. Fill jar with rice vinegar, put on lid. Refrigerate.

Comments Off on Easy Fridge Kimchi

Filed under Putting up, Recipe

Comments are closed.